It’s the Little Things

It’s the little things in life that really make me happy.

My husband does not have a typical 8 to 5, Monday through Friday schedule, and he rarely gets two days off in a row. But his erratic schedule, that often includes working 12-hour days, has been the norm for us for 15 years. So when he is off, as you can imagine, he is tired and needs a day to relax. Usually I am not sure of what he does on his days off, other than occasionally cutting the grass or fixing something that I have complained about for weeks.

And me – while I get every Saturday and Sunday off, I spend the majority of my weekend completing chores and running errands with my kids in tow. I am sure many moms around the world share my pattern, as we struggle through our days thinking “same s***, different day.” Some weeks I neglect my chores in an attempt to have some “me” time. This is time that doesn’t include serving the needs of someone else, cleaning up someone else’s mess, playing chauffeur, or any of the other myriad of things I am constantly doing. But this just makes my to-do list grow, leaving me with even more tasks to do, and my “me” time is still interrupted by the kids — after all, they are home on my days off too (which I don’t totally mind).

That brings me to yesterday. My husband had a day off yesterday. I didn’t expect the day to be any different than any other day; however, when I got home from work, I found that he cleaned up a neglected flowerbed I haven’t had a chance to get to because of the heat, put together something I have been putting off and cooked dinner. After dinner he cleaned up the kitchen, went out and bought dog food because we were out, and picked up some ice cream, just because I wanted it. He followed that up this morning with packing the girls’ lunches and taking Virginia to school downtown on his way to work so that I could have a stress-free ride into work on the train. He was even going to go out of his way to run an errand for me this morning, but I didn’t feel it was necessary since I could do it after work on my way home.

To an outsider, all these things may seem insignificant. But they are significant to me. I am married to a wonderful man. Sometimes life is just moving by so fast that it is easy to forget. It’s the little things make me feel valued and appreciated, which in turn make me remember just how special he is.

Leave a Reply

