Welcome Fall

I was walking outside this morning, when I happily realized Fall is here. Sure, technically it has been Fall for two weeks based on the calendar. But it hasn’t really felt like Fall until now. Fall is my favorite time of year. Every season has something wonderful about it, but for me, Fall is the one that makes me happiest. Why I love Fall…

Crisp cool breezes met with warm sunshine. What a fabulous feeling. The sun is just enough to keep you from feeling cold, and the cool air balances out the sun’s heat. Not too hot. Not too cold.

There is a different smell in the air that comes with Fall. Yes I know it’s most likely the smell of decay from the dying off of leaves and plants, but I don’t view it that way. I love the smell. Take it indoors and add a little pumpkin spice, cinnamon or vanilla and….magic.

Jackets in the evening. Wherever I go, I am always cold so having a jacket or sweater with me is the norm (even in the summer). At home I love to sit on the couch with a fuzzy blanket on. I have grown accustomed to having this “security blanket” of sorts, whether it is an actual blanket or just a sweater. In the Fall, I have an excuse to wear a comfy jacket just about anywhere, and I don’t have the hassle of taking it off and carrying it because I got too hot. Unlike most women who have a “thing” for shoes, well, I have a “thing for coats and jackets.

Autumn leaves. One of the most beautiful sights in nature is seeing a forest of colorful leaves strewn everywhere. Colors ranging from those that are still green, to orange, yellow, brown, and my favorite…red. It would make me so happy and content to live in a cabin in the woods somewhere during this wondrous transition in color. My brother does. I am envious.

Fire. There is nothing more primal than man and fire. It’s powerful, magical, beautiful. Whether it’s a bonfire outside, in a fire pit or in a fireplace, I love to sit by a fire, marshmallows or no marshmallows.

Halloween – my family’s favorite holiday. Once a year the supernatural comes to life (in a safe way). There is no better excuse for a grown adult to play dress-up and live out your fantasies than with Halloween. A chance to be someone you aren’t – or – a chance to let your true self shine without being criticized. Either way, I love it.

Thanksgiving – another favorite. Aside from the fact that I get to celebrate my birthday at Thanksgiving, it is the one time of the year that I get all my favorite foods at once, including a succulent, moist, delicious turkey. Yes I said moist – my husband is a chef. Thanksgiving is also the real start to the countdown to Christmas – a wonderful holiday as well.

Fall is finally here – My favorite time of the year.

 

One comment on “Welcome Fall

  1. Pingback: Fill in the Blank Fridays « My Inspirations

Leave a Reply

