The Easy Bake Oven Experience

My youngest received an Easy Bake Oven for Christmas. Along with her oven, she received an assortment of mixes that will create cakes, cookies and pretzels. I had never had an Easy Bake Oven when I was a kid, but being the skilled baker that I am (hah! I only say that, because I use a real oven), I thought we should start out with the pretzel mix. After all, we had our fill of cookies with the Christmas holiday this weekend. We opened the box up and read the instructions to find out that we needed a 100 watt light bulb…not a soft light bulb. Wouldn’t you know it, we didn’t have that particular light bulb. So my husband had to make a special trip to the store just to pickup one 100 watt light bulb. We waited patiently while he ran this errand. We also started reading the pretzel directions to determine what we needed.

The Easy Bake oven comes with two spoon/spatula combination gadgets, two warming trays and two baking pans. In order to make the pretzels, we needed a bowl to mix the pretzel mix in, a bowl to mix the pretzel glaze in, a bowl to mix the nacho cheese in, spoons for all the mixing, flour, measuring spoons, and a place to roll the dough. We had everything ready by the time the light bulb arrived. We quickly learned only one pretzel could be made at a time, and each pretzel would take 10-12 minutes to bake. After we installed the light bulb, we also found that we had to wait 15 minutes for the unit to preheat.

One hour and three pretzels later, we had dirtied a total of 14 dishes (nine of my own dishes and five of the six gadgets the Easy Bake oven came with) and had made quite the mess on the kitchen table. We had a lot of fun and made some memories, but I am not sure three pretzels were worth all that effort. In the future, I think we will stick with the cake mixes.

3 comments on “The Easy Bake Oven Experience

  1. Be glad that you were able to find a 100 watt bulb! In California, those were ordered removed from store shelves as of Jan 1, 2011. It’s an early start to the federal energy legislation passed 3 years ago, which hits other states next year. According to Hasbro, a 95 watt bulb can be used in its place. I fear this may be the demise of the beloved Easy Bake Oven.

    Happy cooking!
    sue

  2. I can attest to the fact that easy bake is not necessarly easy since I was there and witnessed this process. It was quite funny I thought Chris could dirty dishes but that’s not true anymore. Had a great time a lot of good memories.

Leave a Reply

