New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year!

Ok, so I am almost a week late with that, but hey that’s because of one of my New Year’s resolutions. I said I wouldn’t have any New Year’s resolutions this year. In fact, I say that every year, but the reality is that even though I may never voice any resolutions to others, I still have unspoken goals that pop up in my head. I am sure everyone probably does. If you are like me, you go into a new calendar year with positive thoughts on how this year will be better because (fill in the blank). That is exactly how my unspoken resolutions form.

So this year two goals (or “resolutions”) have taken up residence in my brain next door to my conscience. How do I know they are beside the living quarters of my pesky little friend “Connie”? Because it’s clear to me that they speak to each other on a regular basis. The resolutions are gossiping to Connie how I am doing (or not doing) with following through with them and Connie is nagging me about them.

So exactly what are my two resolutions this year? They both have to do with spending less. One is to spend less time on the computer after work. I don’t care much for television, so usually I will get home from work and plop down in our family room at the computer and either play on Facebook or play World of Warcraft. I don’t really feel it’s all that different from watching TV and I am still in the same room as the rest of the family, but apparently my children think I am tuned out, so I am going to attempt to cut back. So far this week I have been successful in cutting back my time on the computer. Hence the reason for my late New Year blog.

My other resolution? To spend less money. I don’t have a disposable income, so this should be easy; however, it has already proven to be difficult this week. I have not had any time to go grocery shopping this past week, which has setup my first-week failure on this goal; I have been buying my breakfast and lunch at work all week. There is only one working day left this week, and I will go grocery shopping this weekend, so this resolution will just have a delayed start.

So there you have it, my unspoken-turned-spoken new year’s resolutions for 2011. I wish you the best of luck in following through with your 2011 resolutions or unspoken goals. 😉

3 comments on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. My goal is the same every year…to lose weight….not possible with all the stress of living with a lazy husband. enough said…just had to get it off my chest.

Leave a Reply

