A Lego World

My daughter Virginia and I have some of the best conversations in the car on our commute home at the end of the day. Today she was asking me why kids have to label things so negatively. For example, our family loves the Toy Story movies. She indicated that there are kids at school who say Toy Story is a movie for babies. I did my best to explain to her that kids will always find some way to ridicule something that they just don’t understand. They may see a cartoon and are quick to judge that cartoons are for babies. Now when those same kids get older and watch Toy Story again, they will see all the subtle humor that is there that they didn’t get as kids, and they may find they really like these movies.

Virginia still didn’t quite understand why kids act in such a way. Not quite knowing how else to explain the stupid things kids do, I told her that she shouldn’t give too much credit to what other kids think. Be a unique individual. Like what you want to like. Dislike what you want to dislike. It is our individuality that makes us each special. The world would be a boring place if everyone liked and hated the exact same things.

I noticed Virginia still appeared unsatisfied with my lame parenting attempt to instill in her the unimportance of others’ opinions. Then I thought of a close friend of mine and something we talked about today. I told Virginia that my grown-up friend still loves Legos. She thought that was funny. I also explained to her that she also has many friends that think it’s funny and like to tease her about it. My friend has a new man in her life, and the two of them have “bonded” quite well. Ironically they discovered that they both have this life-long love of Legos. It is one of the unique quirks they both share that make their relationship special.

From here the conversation drifted off into the world of Legos. I realized, much to my dismay, that I never had Legos as a kid. I have no idea why. I loved to play with them, but for some reason I don’t remember ever having had any of my own. I feel slightly cheated there. I guess I made up for it over the years when I purchased the large version for my children when they were toddlers. It was a joy to watch my Klara create an airplane all by herself when she was only two years old. I never got around to purchasing the smaller, original Legos for them. Probably, because I didn’t want to step on them all over the house – we all know how badly that hurts. Now I am thinking I need to buy my kids some Legos. Maybe not just for them, but for the kid in me as well. But I’m getting off the subject here.

Legos. The point I attempted to make to Virginia is that, like Legos, life is a blank canvas just waiting for what our minds can create. It is full of variety and we can turn it into anything we want. The unique things we experience or create make life more interesting and enjoyable. Those people that ridicule the simpler things (like Toy Story or Legos) don’t know what experiences they are missing out on. We should all be so lucky to live in a limitless, creative Lego world.

3 comments on “A Lego World

  1. I agree. If we can’t play and enjoy what we enjoy… just because, where’s the fun in life? I find it truly sad that so many children are syncial at such an early age: they catch it from their parents, I believe.

  2. Oh my goodness!! I love this post. I especially love the last two lines. I agree with you completely. They have no idea what they are missing out on when snub their noses to the simpler things in life, like Legos and Toy Story. Oh and tell Gin that I (and Kyla and Jaz) love Toy Story as well and it is not just for babies. 🙂 Man, I love your child!!

Leave a Reply

