She’s An Actress

Most people we know would agree that my oldest child, Virginia, is very smart. She lets you know she is very smart. She has won numerous contests, makes great grades, and will sit and carry out an intelligent, adult-like conversation (as you may have seen from some of my previous posts). These same people may come to the conclusion that my youngest child, Klara, is a “bubble-headed blonde” in a brunette body. While Virginia is the serious child, Klara is the happy-go-lucky, no-care-in-the-world child. Everything is a fun time for Klara. She is the baby of the family, and acts very much like the baby. She talks in a babyish tone quite often, and when things aren’t super easy or going her way, she acts helpless and whines like a baby too.

I am convinced Klara will make a wonderful actress someday. I started coming to this conclusion about a year or so ago, when she was 6 or 7. We were driving in the car and I was complaining about how long it was taking. She piped up from the back seat and stated, “Wouldn’t it be easier if we had teleportation?” What? Where did that come from? How does she know such big words? Maybe it was just a fluke. I mentioned it to my husband. He said he too had noticed that there was something below the surface that she is keeping to herself.

Then one day I received a letter from her school. Klara’s teacher wanted to have her tested as a gifted child. What? Klara? I thought there must have been a mix up and they had the wrong child. But I went with it and agreed to the testing. The test started out with a questionnaire that was sent home for me to fill out. It focused on questions about Klara’s behavior and activities at home. As I read through the questionnaire, all I could think was that I could easily answer all of the questions if it were on Virginia; however, I couldn’t answer any of the questions concretely for Klara. The only instance I could recall that would fit on the questionnaire was the conversation about teleportation. At the bottom of the questionnaire there was a section for comments. I had to write something to the effect of, ‘Klara is the baby at home and acts very much like the baby; because of this, I feel that her teacher may have a better understanding of Klara than I do.’ I really didn’t know what my child could be capable of. Sad isn’t it?

The school proceeded to test Klara. We then received a request to meet with the guidance counselor and her teacher to discuss the results. Along with this request was a packet of information designed for “gifted and special needs” children. Now I was confused. Was she gifted, or did she have special needs? The information we received covered both ends of the spectrum. We made an appointment with the school.

My husband and I were still confused when we arrived at our appointment. The confusion only grew when we were presented with a series of test results. In every test, Klara ranked HIGH. High as in above-average, intelligent, smart. THIS CHILD? My BABY? Again I was baffled. Why did we not see it at home? The counselor proceeded to explain to us the psychological reasoning as to why Klara acts the way she does at home. Even though I cannot quite reiterate that reasoning to you here, it was a sufficient explanation for my husband and I. We walked out of the school proud of our little baby.

Since we were given the fabulous news on Klara’s brain power, she has continued to very much be the baby at home. Not much has changed. But every so often a little bit of her intelligence sneaks out in conversation so you know there is something there under the surface. A few of my friends have even started to notice little signs of intelligence. I guess there is hope that she won’t depend on us to do everything for her forever. So as I said, she will make a great actress when she grows up, or even better, a perfect detective, or undercover agent…who would ever suspect her? 😉

2 comments on “She’s An Actress

  1. I love your blogs….they are so informative about the girls and you and Chris. It is nice to be kept abreast of all the news at your house. Love ya, Kris. Keep up the good work. I still think you should write a book or for a newspaper.

  2. I always knew she was very smart she just has a way of hiding it. I remember when she was in the little miss Nashville paagent and didn’t win, it was just like oh well so what and went on her merry way having fun. Both girls are very smart and we are very proud of them. Keep writing I enjoy reading them. Love you.

Leave a Reply

