Valentine’s Day Redux

Ok, so my non-romantic hubby does surprise me and get romantic every once in a while. Well, as romantic as one can be with kids around. He led me to believe that he was working today (Valentine’s Day). He even went so far as to send me a message to tell me to eat dinner without him. This is normal for us, and since I don’t put much effort into Valentine’s Day, I wasn’t disappointed. Little did I know he was scheming. Unfortunately for him, I sort of threw his plans off.

After I picked my youngest up from daycare, I had to make a dash to the grocery store. Virginia told me she just learned today that her class was having a Valentine’s Day party tomorrow (a day late?). She needed me to stop at the store to pick up some candy. Normally I would arrive home by 5:30 at the latest, but that is when he picks Klara up from the daycare and Virginia and I can drive straight home. This time, with picking Klara up and then having a slight detour to the grocery store, I didn’t walk in the door at my customary 5:30ish time. Fearing that I may have resorted to other plans for the evening, he called me and asked me what I was doing. I told him I was at the grocery store to pick up candy. He had to shift his strategy and told me that he would be home for dinner after all. I asked him if he wanted me to pick anything up for dinner and he said no.

We got Virginia’s candy and headed home. As it turns out, Chris was off….all day. He cleaned the house. As if that wasn’t enough (and yes that is all it takes to make me really happy!!!!), he was waiting for us and ready to serve up a four-course gourmet meal. The table was adorned with candles, roses, heart balloons, four wine glasses and four place settings of my beloved Grannie’s fine china. Beautiful. Now I never use the fine china, but my Grannie always did. I just don’t ever really think about using it myself, but it did not bother me in the least to see it in use.

The girls and I sat down to the table, and he proceeded to serve each course. As he did so, part of the china place settings would leave the table just as they would in a formal dining restaurant, and were replaced with our everday dishes with each course on them….there would be no need to wash the fine china (brilliant man, but then again he is a chef and accustomed to the idea). We started with a sushi appetizer. This was followed with the most refreshing salad that included oranges and blueberries. The entree consisted of filet mignon (my favorite), purple roasted potatoes (yes they were actually purple) and heri coverts (french green beans). For dessert, we had chocolate covered strawberries and petit fours.

Dinner was spectacular, made by my favorite chef and in my favorite restaurant (home). For a non-romantic guy, he really knows how to make the three women (girls) in his life feel really special.

One comment on “Valentine’s Day Redux

Leave a Reply

