Valentine’s Day

What is the point to Valentine’s day? I completely forgot it was Valentine’s Day until my husband said “Happy Valentine’s Day” to me this morning. I thought,
Oh crap, it’s Valentine’s Day? Oh yeah.” Then I forgot until 15 minutes later when I heard it mentioned again on the news.

My husband is not the romantic type, and that suits me just fine, because just like all previous years, I didn’t get him anything, not even a card. I suppose I’m the schmuck in this relationship when it comes to what I call “card” holidays (Valentine’s Day, Sweetest Day, I’m sure there are more, but I can’t think of them at the moment). I told him back when we were dating (20 years ago): “Don’t buy me candy, because I’ll eat the whole box and then will feel awful that I ate the whole box.” “Don’t buy me flowers, because they just die. They are a waste of money.” I do love flowers, but I would prefer something that I could plant that will keep on living. Honestly, I don’t care all too much for cards either. You read it once and then just file it away for the future to treasure the past, or possibly throw it away, which just feels wrong. A heartfelt note or poem would suit me better. In fact, one year my husband gave me the best “card” for Mother’s Day ever….something he typed up on the computer using his own words. I treasure that more than any store-bought card.

So what would make me happy for little holidays such as this one? Time. Time alone with my husband. Time away from the kids. Time with no television, no computer, no distractions. Dinner is ok, but we eat dinner out often. Lunch away from work in the middle of the day with him would be nicer, because it’s something different. Spending money is not a necessity though. A walk (again with no kids) would be lovely. It doesn’t take a whole lot to please me. It really is the little things that make me feel special.

This seems to be one of those holidays that seems to be geared mostly toward women with cards, candy, flowers, jewelry and all, so I don’t really know exactly what men expect from this holiday. So I ran out to the store to buy my hubby a card, because I know he will put forth the effort to get me one if he hasn’t already done so.

5 comments on “Valentine’s Day

  1. Yep, I was so preoccupied with helping the kids make out their cards for classmates that I forgot today was actually Valentine’s Day, and left for work without even mentioning it to my girlfriend. Fortunately, she feels similarly about it. Have a good one!

  2. His father isn’t romantic either. He never took the kids to get me a card or present no matter what the holiday so they don’t do it now but that’s ok. However he did leave me a posted note on my computer screen this morning tell me happy valentine’s day and he loves me he’s never done that before. I think that makes up for all the years he didn’t do anything. Just thought I’d share.

  3. Pingback: True Love = Favorite Color? « My Inspirations

Leave a Reply

