Metamorphosis

Over the past few months, I have gone through some changes in my life.  Once again I am reflecting on those changes.   How did I get to this point? Does anyone every really realize moments in their life when things begin to change?  Looking back, I can point out a few instances that may have led me to where I am, but at the time they happened, with as stressful and emotional as they were, I probably wouldn’t have noticed them as being life improving.  It’s funny that when a person goes through life’s little challenges, it is difficult to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  Little do we realize that sometimes it takes a few detours and bumps in the road to get to the beautiful landscape that lies ahead.  Even more surprising is the fact that sometimes the path that seems to feel right isn’t necessarily the path that you must ultimately take.  I guess that is where Faith comes into play. 

Even as cute and soft (and preceivably cuddly) as I believe caterpillars are, even they must go through changes to become beautiful butterflies.  I find the timing of my own metamorphosis ironic.  I will be 40 in a few months.  People that may not have spent much time around me as of late may think I’m having a mid-life crisis.  Believe me, it’s not a crisis…it’s an awakening.  A realization of who I have always been and who I used to be before so many stressors crept into my life, putting a cocoon over the real me.  Yet, I didn’t fully realize I was stuck in a cocoon.  There were moments that the real me shined through and I felt genuinely happy, yet there always seemed to be a shadow looming over them…the shadow that was cast by the cell of my cocoon.  Just before I started to feel the suffocating effects, the help I would ultimately need to be free was brought into my life.  As they say in so many songs, you don’t always recognize what is right in front of your face.  When I wasn’t looking, God brought two angels into my life.  Both have contributed to freeing me from my self-inflicted cage in their own unique ways.  I am truly grateful for the friendship, support and love that I have received from my two new “best friends“.  Yes, I have used the phrase I didn’t think I ever could.  I hope that the paths of our lives will forge into one continuous road for the remainder of this life.  Tina and Lori, thank you for facilitating my metamorphosis.  I love you both dearly. 

4 comments on “Metamorphosis

  1. You are a wonderful friend and I love you dearly, too! I look back at past friendships and I’m so glad you and I met at a time when we could truly appreciate each other. I look forward to a lifetime of memories with you!

  2. I agree with the both of you. Timing is everything and boy was the timing just perfect on this friendship. You are such a jewel and I love your wisdom. You keep me grounded on those rare moments when I’ve lost my mind…rare??? Ha!!! Love you and I mean it! You are absolutely awesome. And if for a second I thought you were having a mid life, I would cheer you on…I mean talk you off the ledge. 🙂
    Love,
    the devil on your shoulder 🙂

Leave a Reply

