Falling off the Wagon

Once again, I feel like someone about to fall off a 12-step program.  I’ve blogged before about how I am an addict of sorts.  I’m not ashamed to say it.  I’ve managed to stay “on the wagon” since Lent.  First I used lent as an excuse to quit.  Then I just fought every urge to go back.  But every so often, I feel the pull.  The pull that takes me into another world.  A magical world, where just about anything can happen.  I guess the activity of summer helped me stay on the wagon, but now that school has started back up for my kids, there is something even stronger about this pull.  I have friends that are happy to push me off the wagon.  My family will be disappointed if I take the plunge again, especially my kids.  Although, I don’t know why they even care – it’s not like I’m one of their friends playing with them every evening.  So far I’ve only felt the urge while at work, so I haven’t been able to act on it.  By the time I get home, the urge is gone.  But I don’t know how much longer I can last.  It’s going to be even tougher when the days start getting shorter. 

In true “pusher” form, one of my friends ask me, “What could it hurt?”  Well, it could hurt my wallet – $14.99 a month to be exact.  It could hurt my free time, but it’s not like I do much in the evenings anyway.  So, he’s right.  What could it hurt?  I don’t know how much longer I can hold out.  I’ve been offered 7 days for free.  I do miss my magical powers.  I do miss my alter ego, Terrwyn.  I miss my World of Warcraft.

4 comments on “Falling off the Wagon

  1. I’m teetering on the edge myself. I’ve been away for 6 months and really didn’t see myself going back.

    I don’t really know what the point is. At 85, the game offers nothing for me at all. Still, there is something that keeps calling me.

    At any rate $14.99 month is pretty fair, considering the hours I’ll likely log in.

  2. Is there a WoW hotline? Just joking honey, really though I am also addicted to my computer, my nook, my mandolin, all of this does take time away from everyone, hell I didn’t think they cared that much. Let me sit down and not bother anyone, and they all go nuts and start saying things like: are you going to spend anytime with us? Or they just get flat rude. So I understand your dilema the money part I would not be able to give good advise on, because I spend money like there is no tomorrow. I love you and I know you will figure all of this out.

Leave a Reply

