The Universe Has a Sense of Humor

Anyone who knows anything about me, or even who reads my blog, should know by now that I am a Starbucks junkie.  Every morning on our way to work, Tina and I stop at the same Starbucks downtown and get our coffee.  They know us so well, that they can prepare our coffee without even asking us what we want, and they NEVER ask us our names, because they don’t have to.  I love that place.  Unfortunately, it’s not close to my office.  So even, though we got our usual coffee there this morning, we decided to get a second cup mid-morning, which required us to go to the one nearby.  We were regulars there last year, but the staff changed over so drastically, that it just isn’t the same any longer.  That is why we prefer the downtown location now.

Anyway, Tina had just finished her morning coffee, so didn’t wish to purchase any more this trip.  We were there for my benefit.  After I ordered, I asked Tina if she wanted anything.   I knew she didn’t bring any money with her, because she hadn’t intended to order; however, it is her birthday week, so I had to be sure she really didn’t want one.  After an initial no, she changed her mind.  We ordered our drinks and I proceeded to pay with my Starbucks rewards card. This card works like a gift card.  I refill it regularly with any dollar amount as necessary, and it gives me points towards free purchases as I use it.  It turned out that our two drinks exceeded the dollar amount on my card by ten cents, and I didn’t have any cash on me.  Now if we had been downtown, I know the folks there would have just told us not to worry about the ten cents.  Then I would have probably tipped them a dollar the next morning to make up for it.  A win-win situation.  But that was not the case.  Most of the people at this location were no longer familiar with us.  So as my jaw dropped as to the fact that I still owed ten cents and would have to charge it, they didn’t budge.  Seriously?  I almost asked if I could borrow it from their tip jar and then bring it back to them this afternoon.  But I know how important those tips are, so I didn’t say anything and just handed over my debit card.  A whopping ten cent charge.

As Tina and I turned from the counter to go retrieve our drinks, still laughing about the fact that I had paid ten cents on a card, my foot kicked something that slid across the floor with a light clinking sound.  I instantly knew.  I don’t know how, I just did.  I looked at Tina and said, “What was that!”  Yes, that was not a question.  I bent over to pick up the item I kicked.  It was a dime.  Holy crap!  Are you kidding me?!  Why couldn’t I have found this five seconds sooner?  We laughed about it all the way back to the office.  Yep, I’m convinced something, or someone somewhere, perhaps you can call it the Universe itself, has a big sense of humor.

One comment on “The Universe Has a Sense of Humor

Leave a Reply

