I Can’t

I can’t be everything that makes you smile

I can’t be everything that makes your day worthwhile

I can’t walk on egg shells with everything I do and say

I can’t be guilty just because we hadn’t talked today

I can’t be the reason for all your pain and strife

I can’t be the villain you seem to need in your life

I can’t understand what it is that hurts you so bad

I can’t understand why everyone makes you so mad

I can’t keep trying to heal your internal distress

You are the maker of your own happiness

Others have hurt you, I know that is true

But not everyone is really out to get you

Only you can look inside yourself and find a release

Maybe then you will find true inner peace

By Kris Heaton Posted in Poetry

Leave a Reply

