Letting Go

It’s four a.m.

I can’t sleep

Recent events

My mind can’t keep

 

God has given me

A new birthday gift

New found clarity

My veil has begun to lift

 

It’s hard letting go

But no one can win

When perspective is everything

And truth is treated like a sin

 

My love is still here

Even though it won’t be seen

For some the veil is too thick

Hence perspective is everything

 

I am human

I could lash out too

There is a side you don’t know of me

But what good could that do

 

So I see it’s a losing battle

And I choose not to fight

Perspective is not everything

No one person can be totally right

 

So I can no longer follow you

Down that treacherous road

Until your veil begins to thin

I am learning how hard it is to let you go

 

By Kris Heaton Posted in Poetry

Leave a Reply

