A Small – Delayed – Step

Back last year, I was trying to get fit by going to boot camp with my friend Tina. We were going to participate in the Women’s Half Marathon in the Fall.  Well, life got in the way, and unfortunately that didn’t happen.  In fact, over the course of the past few months, all physical fitness activity seemed to disappear in my household.  Knowing I have to keep doing something to stay healthy, Tina asked me if I would participate in this year’s Country Music Mini Marathon with her.  Knowing how much I hate to run, before I had a chance to laugh at her, she said we could actually walk in the mini marathon.  I could walk 2.6 miles.  I was also told that it would be a really early Saturday morning (like checking in around 5:00 am), but I figured what else could have I have going on that early on a Saturday, besides sleeping?  Nothing, so why not?  I signed up and paid the registration fee.  When I went to put the marathon on my calendar, there it was….the reason I wouldn’t want to be up early on a Saturday morning….a Friday night concert.  My hubby and I had already purchased Van Halen tickets for this concert that is taking place the night before the marathon.  And now, I had already paid the registration for the marathon.  Well, looks like a mistake I will just suffer through.  I’m committed now.

So now here we are the week of the marathon (and concert).  I’m getting excited, but not so excited I’ve bothered to prepare for it.  Are you kidding?  I’m not running!  But now I’m questioning whether or not I should have been exercising in some fashion to prepare.  I could give you a million reasons why I haven’t exercised at all, but why bother.  They are all just excuses for being lazy…some are valid mind you, but they are still excuses.  So I will hope and pray we can do this thing, walking, in the allotted time.  If not, there may be a little running involved, because I am going to get my medal damn it!  I will let you know how it goes.  Please say a prayer that I can get this slacker, aging, lazy ass of mine across the finish line in 60 minutes or less!  Oh, and if you have any tips for this 40-year-old first timer, please share!

Thanks!

2 comments on “A Small – Delayed – Step

  1. Pingback: Getting Motivated…again « My Inspirations

  2. Pingback: I’ve Been Bitten « My Inspirations

Leave a Reply

