Changing the Family Diet – Week 1

Day Two

Well, as much as I hated cooking bacon on day one, I still had a couple packages of it, and I didn’t have time to prepare any other items for breakfast, so day two breakfast consisted of bacon and eggs again.  Except this this time I took a hint from “the chef”.  I laid all the bacon out on a sheet tray and threw it in the oven.  I no longer had to actively participate in the cooking of the bacon, so I figured I could go lay back down in bed for a few minutes.  But then I found I had to do this, and then I had to do that, and before I knew it, the bacon was done and I had to whip up the eggs.  So I didn’t get to rest, but I had a very productive morning getting stuff done.  🙂  The down side to this breakfast…even though the eggs were better than the day before, it seemed no one ate them this time.  What a waste.

For dinner, my daughter requested my homemade chicken and dumpling soup.  Luckily I remembered to thaw out some chicken the night before, so soup it was.  🙂

Day two successfully completed!

Day Three

Well, I overslept, or was just too lazy to get out of bed on time to cook.  Whichever way you look at it, I didn’t get up to cook, and I couldn’t think of anything else to cook.  I had a few suggestions from friends for stuff that could be prepared ahead of time, put in the freezer and then warmed up in the morning, but I haven’t had time to buy the stuff or prepare it it.  I will attempt this over the weekend.  But what to do for breakfast today?  Lucky me, I still had some frozen toaster waffles in the freezer – nutritious and organic ones, not just the cheap lacking-nutrition ones (although I had those too).  So I popped the toaster waffles in the toaster and voila – breakfast!  I didn’t want to leave it just at that, so I had the girls open up a couple of our extra fruit bowls that were left over from making lunches.  Not bad for throwing something together on the fly.

Dinner was a fail.  Before I had a chance to cook, my eldest ate a microwaveable meal (yes there are still some left in the freezer).  My youngest ate the leftover soup from the night before.  I just skipped dinner.  My friend Lori and I hit P90X for the second day in a row, and I didn’t want to eat before, and I couldn’t eat afterwards.  Oh well, can’t win them all!  But I did remember to pull out chicken for tomorrow, and I got a jump on breakfast by boiling some eggs.  🙂

Day Four

After a second night of P90X, I couldn’t get out of bed to cook.  Luckily I had boiled those eggs last night.  When I got up to get in the shower, I still threw the last pack of back on a sheet tray in the oven.  Then I showered while it cooked.  So nice to not have to actively cook!  Still, that is the last of the bacon, and I don’t think I’ll be buying any more unless it’s turkey bacon.  When I got out of the shower, my youngest wouldn’t even get out of bed to eat.  I leave before she does, so I’m not even sure she ever ate.  My eldest only ate the bacon and didn’t touch the eggs.  Ok – No more eggs then.  I”m not sure what I’ll do for breakfast tomorrow, but I definitely have to start making create-ahead meals and freezing them so all we have to do is warm them up in the morning.  It’s a pain getting up early and trying to get ready for work while cooking at the same time!

The girls are still using their pre-packed lunches.  🙂  That’s one headache out of the way!

For dinner, we had some running to do, so we decided to make a quick stop into the grocery store and pickup some freshly made sushi.  Fast, but not unhealthy, food.  🙂  Yum

Day Five and Six

Well, today and tomorrow will most likely bomb.  Now that I have started trying to work out as this week as well, I just couldn’t get out of bed from the pain in my muscles.  I let the kids have cereal for breakfast – but at least it came from the healthy section of the grocery store.

Dinner will probably be horrible, because it will have to be quick.  My hubby and I are going to a concert, so that puts a rush on the meal.

Tomorrow’s breakfast will also be a free for all.  I am leaving the house at 5 am to join the Music City Marathon, and I am sure by the time I get home the kids will have already eaten whatever they wanted to.

So, you win some and you lose some.  But we will keep trying, and I will find time this weekend to prepare some of my own “quick-freeze-and-heat” meals.  😉

 

By Kris Heaton Posted in Health

Leave a Reply

