It’s Mother’s Day – Apologize to Mom!

I did it.  The ultimate evil.  A parenting atrocity.  I used the mother’s curse.  You know which one I’m talking about – “I hope you have kids that act just like you!”  Yep, that one.  It’s the curse that keeps on giving.  Except, I never received that curse from my mom.  So why I was I living it as a mother?  My parents (well my dad) had put the fear of God into me.  I wouldn’t dare talk to them like my children talk to me.  And when my mom simply stated she was disappointed in me – well – IT WORKED!  My kids just roll their eyes to say “Like I really care.”  So in the midst of one of my daughter’s recent emotional outbreaks, I threw it out there.  The words were said.  There was no taking it back.  But it got me thinking.  I was living as a victim of the curse, even though my mother never cursed me with it.  Where was this coming from?

Then it occurred to me…my husband.  I wasn’t living a curse passed down from my mother for my actions.  NO!  I was being punished for my husband’s actions as a child!!  I immediately went into the living room, where he sat watching TV, and told him that he had better call his mom and apologize.  He looked at me as if I were crazy.  How could he not know what I was referring to?  So I had to explain it to him:   There is an old world curse that can only be passed from mother to child by the uttering of those magical words….”I…HOPE….YOU….HAVE….CHILDREN….JUST….LIKE….YOU!”  Even if my mom did put the curse on me, I swear I was a relatively easy child (at least I THINK I was!).  So a curse on me wouldn’t have been such a bad thing.  My girls are not being easy like I was.  I must be receiving retribution from whatever behavior my husband exhibited as a child.  As I explained this to my husband he just chuckled and went back to watching TV; ignoring the rantings of this crazy woman standing in the room interrupting his show.  I was serious!  I told him I was serious.  He needed to call his mom and apologize to her for whatever it was he did as a child, and he had better apologize profusely, because I was paying for it!

I’m still waiting for him to make that phone call.  He says he is going to call her on Mother’s Day.  He better.  She deserves it!  Oh and to my Mom – I love you very much.  If I am blind to anything I put you through, I’M SORRY!!!!!!

Happy Mother’s Day!

2 comments on “It’s Mother’s Day – Apologize to Mom!

Leave a Reply

