Ooops – I Did it Again

The idea started working its way into my head a few months ago.  I wanted another tattoo.  One I could see this time.  So often, my girls would come in my room while I was changing and announce, “I forgot you have a tattoo!” – so did I.  I love it.  But it’s not where I can see it all the time.  Probably not the best choice.  I don’t know why I really wanted another one, but I did.  No images to it or anything, just decoration.  I know that probably sounds strange.  I wanted something to wrap around my ankle (like an ankle bracelet), and perhaps drop down onto my foot.  So I started browsing the web.  I found several I liked, but I didn’t want it to look too “girlie”.  No flowers, no hearts, no butterflies.  I found that I really love tribal tattoos.  But yet I wanted mine to be somewhat feminine.  So the search continued.  Until last week, when I decided to cut and paste photos together to create what it was I wanted.  I figured, if I can’t find what I want, I’ll just make it.  Then I made an appointment with Teddy – he did my husband’s last tattoo and my friend Tina’s last tattoo.  I like his work.

Teddy took my idea (it was after all, just a general idea) and turned it into something I liked.  But then reality started sinking in.  Pain.  I’ve heard the foot is way more painful than most places.  So I determined the ankle part meant more to me than having it run down onto my foot.  I suggested we work on the ankle first, so that if I couldn’t take the pain, we could stop there.

Yep, the foot/ankle area is WAY more painful than the shoulder blade.  I can’t even describe it.  Maybe the word excruciating comes to mind.  Especially when the design would find it’s way directly on my ankle bones.  It felt sort of like I was having my foot sawed off of my leg. Actually, that may have felt better and would have been faster.  What the hell was I thinking?  But I was committed.  I just had to get through it, and I did.

When the ankle was finished, so was I.  There was no way I was going to move on to the foot.  Besides, what we did do had already taken two hours.  I can’t imagine people who sit for several hours at a time to get some massive tattoo.  I had already determined this is it for me.  NO more.  This was enough pain for me.  Tina and I went to dinner then I hobbled home.

Today, it doesn’t feel any worse than a scrape on the leg.  Amazing how quick the body adjusts.  I swore yesterday, the idea of the foot was out. Too painful.  But I can’t help but feel that it isn’t finished…..

   

Update:  I did finish it.  🙂  And yes, the touchup was just as painful if not more so than the initial tattoo.  So glad that’s over!

Kris' Phone 188 (2) Kris' Phone 198 (2) Kris' Phone 200

4 comments on “Ooops – I Did it Again

  1. Pingback: A Kid-Cation | My Inspirations

  2. You have to be very careful to keep a foot tattoo clean and sterile — which can be a drawback, especially if you work at a job that requires you to wear closed shoes.

Leave a Reply

