Here We Go Again

I am a failure.  Worse than a failure, I am an ADDICT!  So many times I have tried to quit, and so many times I’ve given in and surrendered to my obsession.  My dark temptation.  My love.  My Starbucks.

I love coffee.  But more than coffee, I LOVE Starbucks. I don’t know why I’m so drawn to it.  Oh wait, yes I do. It’s that feeling that comes with the first sip of the first cup in the morning.  It’s like lightning that runs down my spine and touches every nerve in my body.  It jump starts my heart and gets my blood racing.  First there is a strong rush, then a slight chill.  It’s orgasmic.  Yes, I said it.  That’s what the perfectly made sugar-free-vanilla, Pike Place Misto from Starbucks does to me.  I can’t deny it.  No matter how many cups of coffee I put away at home before heading out, once I see that beautiful  pearl and emerald beacon before me, I am drawn to it.

I have tried countless times to leave this obsession of mine (see Lover,Lover, Lover and Oh Sweet Coffee), only to be drawn back in.  Sometimes my failure is due to lack of willpower.  Other times, its due to enablers – those well-intentioned people who see me every day and know my weakness.  It may be a birthday or some other holiday, but there it is, a gift card.  FREE ecstasy in a cup.  Who can deny the thrill of free?  Then there is my addict’s card – my Starbucks Gold card.  Each time I attempt to quit, I just happen to have enough points racked up to have a FREE drink voucher sent to me in the mail.  There I am, walking to my mailbox and minding my own business, and BAM!   My demons are surrounding me, whispering, “come on Kris, you know you love us.”  “We miss you Kris, please don’t leave.”  And I cave once again.

But now it’s time.  I know I have to do it.  I can’t keep putting it off any longer.  I have to be strong.  I must quit Starbucks again.  I won’t promise to stay completely away.  If I get a free offer, I will take it.  But this time, I am going to hold strong to not letting that free cup of magic turning into an endless, money draining, calorie and caffeine-induced obsession.  I can do it.  I WILL do it.  Maybe with the money I will save I can find a new obsession.  😉

By Kris Heaton Posted in Health

Leave a Reply

