When Life Throws You Lemons…

Once again, we find ourselves in a precarious situation.  My husband lost his job this week.  This seems to be a regular pattern for him every couple of years, because (as he says), the higher up you are on the totem pole, the more likely you are to fall.  Sure enough, when his company found their finances were looking bleak, who do you think is going to be the first to go?  Well one of the highest paid of course!  Ah, the pitfall to being one of the bosses.

I remember the first time I was truly affected when he “lost” a job – post kids.  I was a stay-at-home mom at the time.  I was crushed.  He was pissed. Everything was turned upside down.  We quickly learned how generous people can be.  But, as you’ve always heard, when God closes a door, he opens a window.  And He opened a big window that landed us where we are now —  Nashville. We LOVE it here: Love the sites, love the things to do, love the location, love the sounds (it’s Music City after all!) and LOVE the people!

So now, when we are thrown in this situation (and it has happened a couple times while we have lived here as well), my only concern is whether or not we will have to move.  I don’t ever want to leave here.  I have a wonderful job.  I have the best friends I have ever had in my life post school days.  And most importantly, we (all four of us) are very, very happy.  So now all we can do now is wait.

Luckily for me, since we have been in this predicament before, I have an action plan saved – things to do to keep ourselves afloat until the next job comes along.  We are far from a perfect situation, as I am a Dave Ramsey Financial Peace flunkie.  However, I know immediate steps to take to help us get through the short term.  Things such as switch my husband over to my insurance, file for unemployment, sign the kids up for free or reduced school lunches, etc. etc.  Our proverbial ball is currently on the roll.

So my latest action was a family couponing session.  As you have read in my previous blogs, I am a coupon failure.  Every time I have one to use, it’s expired, in my car, or at home.  I am just not meant to save money.  But we are going to try this again.  The girls and I sat down this evening, threw away a ton of my expired coupons, and systematically cut coupons from both the mail and printable ones from the internet.  I have to say, this teamwork thing turned a monotonous task into a piece of cake.  Now I have a super fat coupon wallet that is ready for use.  Let’s hope I remember to take it shopping with me!!

On another note, I recently signed my youngest, Klara, up for cheerleading – at a $190 fee!!  She is so excited to start next week, that I didn’t want to break her heart and tell her nevermind. I did tell the girls what was going on and explained to them that we will be just fine; however, it is important for everyone to do their part to get us through.  Still, I didn’t want to take this opportunity away from her.  Luckily, the coach has coupon cards for the parents to sell for $10.00 each to help with the fees. I immediately called her up and told her to give me a full 19.  I was going to earn $190 to keep Klara in cheerleading.  At my age, I know what I have to do to keep things running smoothing, so I’m not above groveling.  So today I openly admitted to my coworkers that we were in this situation and I desperately needed their help to keep this dream for Klara.  I’ve sold half the cards already. I know we will sell the rest this week and she will be happy knowing that we can accomplish anything with a little work.

I also have learned over the years that it’s pointless to stress and freak out over this situation.  So I remain optimistic for my family and, most importantly, my husband.  I just ask him to keep from falling into a depression.  We will get through this.  Then I have an additional reminder.  I know a couple people currently fighting cancer.  I know someone who’s son went into ICU at the local hospital yesterday.  I knew someone who died two years ago at the young age 26.  What am I facing?  Job loss.  Not the end of the world.

So when life throws lemons at you – screw the lemonade – make a big fat margarita and enjoy time with your family and friends.

Leave a Reply

