Unemployment vs. Employment (Yes it Can Be a Tough Decision)

Well, I know they say be careful what you wish for, but I didn’t make a wish this time.  When Chris lost his job, I initially prayed he would get another one right away.  Then we decided to be adventurous and see if he could start his own catering gig.  I met that with some initial fear, but now that I’ve gotten on board with that idea, something completely different popped up.  It turns out the movie division of his former employer wants him to go to New York for two weeks to work on a job there.  I figured that would be great!  Then he called me back after talking to them on the phone.  Now it seems they may want to keep him on – working one of the television shows they cater for.  Keep him on?  I had to ask what that meant.  Well, it means that he would stay in New York for the show’s season (September through December).  OH.

So now I have this wave of anxiety flowing over me.  Over all, I say it’s a great opportunity and he should go for it.  But then there is reality.  The reality that once again we would be separated for several months.  Yes, I know we have done it time and time again in the past, but it has been a long time now since we have been apart that long.  But hey, it’s a job right?  A damn good job, and it’s not official yet anyway. I am probably reacting prematurely.

Who would have thought I would be torn between unemployment and employment.  Ironic, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

