Social Me

Ok, I have to admit that I am addicted to social websites – mainly Facebook and Get Glue.  As I borderline on introvert and extrovert tendencies, social websites are just the thing for me.  When I was young, I was a very social person.  Constantly going out with friends and being social.  Over the years, some relationships have gone sour and have left me more cynical of people around me.  It takes a while for me to open up, so I have become a little more introverted.  That’s where these websites fit into my life.  I can keep to myself when I want, and I can socialize continuously as I feel the need to satisfy some lonely place deep within me.  And when I jump on, it’s instant gratification.  I know this is the reason I used to be addicted to World of Warcraft….the social factor.  You played with real people and chatted while playing.  It was awesome!  But as my WoW friends started drifting off the game or onto other realms for various reasons, I found I was starting to get lonely on the game, and it lost it’s appeal.  Don’t get me wrong, I still have the urge to play that damn game, but now I have other social fixes.

So what is it about these websites that draw me in?  I guess it would have to be friendships.  I truly do believe I have met some wonderful people that I now call my friends on these websites. I know, you may think how much can you really know about someone through the internet, and I used to think the same thing.  But I find there are other people out there who are like me and aren’t necessarily trying to pull a con.  They are real individuals looking to reach out to someone when it is mostly likely inconvenient to reach out.  I love these people I now call my friends.  Some women are phone talkers and can  spend all day on the telephone talking to people they know.  I am not much of a talker (unless I am really close to you), but I love writing (hence the blog) and chatting.  There is something very honest and open about the written word.  So to be able to connect with someone at the oddest of times is a source of comfort to me.  It’s almost another form of therapy for my soul to be able to reach out to others.

I am in awe and thankful for today’s technology and having the ability to meet so many wonderful people around the world.  People who accept me for being just who I am…ME.  🙂

 

2 comments on “Social Me

Leave a Reply

