Happy Thanksgiving

Ah my favorite holiday – Thanksgiving.  It has finally arrived and is about to end.  I have so much to be grateful for, and much of it was right here.   It has been a fabulous day spent with my fabulous family.  I can get really mushy and sentimental here, or I can give you the short version.  Here’s the short version.

  • My mother – the most wonderful woman in my world.  I love you mom.  I am so very happy to continue to share many holidays with you.
  • My dad has been successful in his cancer treatments this year.  I love you Dad.  You are strong, and you will continue to be strong.  Besides – Heaven obviously doesn’t want you yet.  😉
  • My brother just returned this month from an 8-month deployment to Cuba – it’s great to have you home Rob.  I may not get to see you very often, but I love you very much.  You have a wonderful family and two beautiful girls, who even though they were born very prematurely and with Down syndrome, they are thriving well with the greatest parents in the world.  You and Julie are an inspiration for parents everywhere!
  • My own wonderful family.  We are all happy, healthy and I couldn’t ask for anything more.  As hard as I am on my girls, I do love them both with everything I am.  Virginia and Klara – you make me so very proud.  🙂
  • My extended family.  I am surrounded by wonderful people in my life.  You are all irreplaceable.  I love you very much.
  • My adopted family.  Those of you who weren’t born into my genealogy tree, but have rooted yourself in my life.  I love you and don’t want to live without you.  You bring so much joy to my life.  I thank you every day for your love and friendship.

I could continue on and on with all my many blessings.  But I don’t have all night.  You see, even though I swore off Black Friday last year, I have been conned into making the trek out once again with my Aunt and Sister-in-Law.  Oh Lord what am I getting myself into.  But while all of us lose our sanity out there trying to pickup a bargain, I hope everyone continues to remember what they are thankful for.  Remember, stuff is just that – stuff.  It cannot replace what is important in our lives: People.  People are precious; whether they are living under your roof, or standing next to you in the checkout line trying to get that Black Friday deal.  Be courteous.  A little kindness in this world is more priceless than any old bargain that will become next year’s trash.

I hope everyone has had a truly blessed holiday.

Leave a Reply

