Month Five of Unemployment

We are now in month five of unemployment. Chris has picked up short term jobs here and there that have helped, but there has still been nothing solid. Today I find myself feeling highly stressed about our circumstances.

We’ve not sheltered our girls from the situation. We feel it’s important they understand why we can no longer do some of the things we used to do. But now it may be starting to affect them as well. I had to meet with my daughter’s guidance counselor yesterday. That’s a whole different story, so I won’t go into details, but it has increased my urgency to return our life back to the standards we had a year ago. Back to providing them with activities that used to enrich their lives. I didn’t realize what an effect this can have on them.

I try to remain calm, but incidents like yesterday’s creates this fear that occasionally takes over and fills me with tremendous stress. The Unemployment Office has failed us so terribly. It seems small attempts to get work will actually screw you out of receiving unemployment assistance. One is better off doing absolutely nothing. So, because Chris has put in efforts to work, we are denied any assistance. The program is really screwed up.

I don’t know why I am letting it get to me today, because we have managed to stay afloat thus far. I’m sure it is because it is having a more detrimental affect on my girls, so I can’t help but feel a little panicky about our circumstances. Any thoughts or prayers you can send our way would be greatly appreciated.

One comment on “Month Five of Unemployment

  1. Pingback: Updates | My Inspirations

Leave a Reply

