March Blog Challenge – 12

March blog challengeSomething I Miss

Here’s another topic that started one way in my head earlier in the week only to change by the time I wrote it.  Originally I was going to write about something that I missed, yet it was actually something I could go back to any time I wanted to.  But the more I thought about it, the more I began to contemplate what it is to truly miss something.   The conclusion I have come to is to truly miss something, that something may have to be out of your reach, or perhaps it is something you can never get back.

So, with that in mind, these are a few of the things that I truly miss.

  • My Babies –  I miss my girls being the adorable little creatures they once were. I do love who they have become, but there is still something special about children when they are babies and toddlers. They possess such a beauty and innocence before the process of our learning to be parents has screwed them up.
  • My Youth – Oh to be young again and not have any responsibility in the world other than turning in homework on time. Back to the days of no debt and not having a care in the world other than what to wear and which party to go to.  Long before life destroys one’s love and trust in people, when life is fun and full of discovery. Those were the days when I could dance all night, attend rock concerts every weekend, and was simply high on life.
  • My Heritage – I am fascinated with genealogy, and I currently have a love of history that I didn’t have when I was young, especially that of my ancestors.  I miss having the opportunity to learn of the past through my grandparents’ eyes. Yes, I did sit with them and heard some of their stories growing up, but as a kid, one cannot fully appreciate and take in the gift that is given to us through stories that are handed down through the generations.  As the appreciation to mentally walk in the footsteps of their past develops in us, life takes it toll on them.  They begin to lose those memories that are so priceless, and ultimately, we lose the ability to to connect with them at all once their soul moves onto its next journey in this vast universe.

These are the gifts we take for granted in life until it is too late to retrieve them.  These are the things I can say that I truly miss.

appreciate

Leave a Reply

