I Cried

tears

 

I cried when I first laid my eyes on you

So beautiful to behold

I cried when you exerted your independence

So very long ago

I cried when I watched you walk away

Your first day of Pre-school

I cried when you entered Pre-Kindergarten

You acted so very cool

I cried on the first day of school

For only one more year

I cried with each of your accomplishments

Moms carry a lot of tears

I cried when you went to visit family

Because you were out of my sight

I cried when you went to your first sleep over

Wondering if you would you make it through the night

I cried for the first day of school again

When you moved on to middle school

I cried when you rode that city bus alone

Still you always keep your cool

I haven’t cried in a while

Because you are remarkably mature

But when your bus left for Boston this morning

I learned when it comes to tears from love, time is no cure

I know I will cry again

When you enter high school

I know I will cry again when you graduate

Moms are so uncool

I know I will cry again

When you leave home for college

I know I will cry again

When you enter your own marriage

I know I will cry again

When I hold my first grandchild

Then your tears will flow freely

And you will understand and smile

Leave a Reply

