42

20131125-071930.jpg

Tomorrow I turn 42.  “The answer to life the universe, everything.”  Ok, so if you’re not a fan of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, that probably did not mean anything to you.  Yeah, it doesn’t mean a whole lot to me either.  I know it should.  I should probably have some great wisdom to pass on in my annual birthday blog, but sadly I do not.  I have actually had a bit of writer’s block lately and haven’t had much to write about (in case you haven’t noticed).

So as I contemplate another birthday (this one falling right on my favorite holiday – Thanksgiving – and thus the reason I am writing it a day ahead of time), I can only share these few bits with you.  Some I still have to tell myself on a regular basis.

  • Even at 42 I still don’t know much more than I did at 22, I just learned life is constantly changing.
  • People, no matter how much you love them, will always find a way to disappoint you.  So it’s your job to realize they don’t know much more about life than you do and are trying to figure it all out themselves.  Just forgive their foolishness and love them anyway.
  • Life doesn’t ever get easier, it just gets routine enough to be tolerable, which essentially makes it seem easier I suppose.
  • The grass will always appear greener on the other side, but it’s all an illusion.  Just as my life may appear perfect to some, I guarantee you it is not, any more than yours may appear to be better to me.  I guess we all need to stop looking over the fence and be happy for what each other has as well as our own blessings.
  • Be careful what you wish for (see my last comment).
  • Everyone, no matter how young, old, rich, poor, educated or uneducated knows or has something to their life that you can learn from.  Be receptive and open and a little less judgmental.
  • Guide your children, but let them find their own voice, their own personality, and their own way. As a parent this one is even difficult for me, but more so for some people I see around me.  We are given the tasks as parents to guide and teach, not manipulate, not control.  I may need you to remind me of this – maybe more than once a day!
  • View each day as a lesson in the school of life.  Maybe that is our only purpose here, to learn how to live.
  • And most importantly, know the people in your life are there for a reason.  As a little post I read online read, some people are in our lives to serve as blessings, and some are in our lives to teach us lessons. If you can learn the difference, that’s one more class in the school of life where mastery will help make each day a little easier.

There you go.  Just a few tidbits I’ve picked up over the years, and am still trying to master myself.  Oh – and have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow!

20131127-175129.jpg

20131127-175330.jpg

Leave a Reply

