Why I Haven’t Written

I’ve been seriously slacking in my writing these days.  It’s not that nothing’s happened or that I don’t have anything to write about.  It’s all in timing.  I feel that I do some of my best writing when I am emotional.  The problem?  Once the emotions pass, so does the urge to write about whatever was bothering me.  Ironically I have three blogs currently in draft form that I started when I felt quite emotional about each topic.  I’m sure I could finish them and make something out of them, but now that I have put those feelings behind me, part of me thinks it’s petty to finish writing them.  Maybe not petty, but maybe it’s more of a false feeling now that the emotions are gone.  I don’t know.  It’s such a conundrum.

So here I am pondering what to do with these partially written blogs.  Do I continue them?  Do I erase them?  Do I alter them and try to impart some wisdom (insert laughing – as if I have any wisdom to provide!).  I’ll think on it some more.  You’ll know my decision if you see a few posts pop up in the past-tense.  😉

Anyway, thanks for hanging in there for those of you who may miss me and my wacky world.

Write while the heat is in you.  The writer who postpones the recording of his thoughts uses an iron which has cooled to burn a hole with.  He cannot inflame the minds of his audience. - Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

