Slacking Again

Well it seems I’m slacking on my writing once more.  Truth be told, I’m not exactly slacking, I’ve just directed my writing more towards poetry at the moment.  You can see these creations on my Poetry page listed in the menu at the top of my blog.  As usual, once I get interested in something, I tend to get a little obsessed and focus a great deal of attention on it.  I did this when I played WoW (World of Warcraft), I’ve done this with knitting, and I’ve even done this with sharing on social media sites. So my current addiction is poetry.   There are definitely worse things I could be addicted to, so I’m not complaining.

I rather enjoy writing poetry, because it can come from anywhere6e48ff1f5697814a65afc95130e6767c, and inspiration can hit me out of the blue while I’m driving down the road.  Sometimes I feel very emotional about something, and though I cannot find the words to blog about it, there is something about poetry that connects so easily with my emotions. At times I just have daydreams in my head, and I find it fun to write a poem on the vision I see.  And of course, sometimes I am a little depressed and that comes forth too.  Yes I recognize that many times, regardless of where my inspiration comes from, my poetry can be a little dark.  What can I say? I find beauty in darkness. But darkness is merely an idea in my head, perhaps from reading too many vampire novels all of my life, followed by similar TV shows and movies nowadays that romanticize darkness and death.  It’s all fantasy of course.  In reality, I don’t want to encounter evil.  Who does?  But the thought of dying for love, well now there could be no better way to die than in the arms of the one you love.

Anyway, that is one reason I haven’t blogged lately.  I’ve also been a little sick this past week, and because of that I just don’t feel like doing anything except lying in bed.  There have been other events taking place to slow me down.  I’m in my sixth class in school.  It seems with each class, the notion of going to school gets more and more aggravating, and I have found myself wanting to quit many times.  Luckily my current class is one I enjoy.  So far it’s not too bad, other than the same old complaints of working with team members that don’t pull their weight.  Still I keep plodding along with each course and know that it will all end before I know it – even if it’s not soon enough at the moment!  As they say, time keeps moving whether you choose to do something or not, so you may as well do something.

My oldest is in her first year of high school, and we have developed a stronger bond than we ever have had before.  I enjoy spending time with her and hearing all her stories and perspectives on friendships.  She’s very wise beyond her years.  I have no doubt in my mind that whatever she does with her life, she will handle it very well.  Some days I find it hard to believe this is the same girl who used to fight so vehemently with me over trivial things.  Well, yes we do still do that, but not as much and not as badly.  We enjoy watching home makeover shows together (which I’m not supposed to watch, because then I become obsessed there as well and want to knock out walls and change everything in the house), and we watch a lot of real-life murder and crime shows, sometimes together, sometimes not.  Just a similar fascination we both seem to have always shared.  Now there’s the real life evil I don’t want to encounter!

My youngest is about to become  a teenager and has started disappearing to her room for hours on end as teenagers seem to do.  Other than an occasional bout of teen defiance, she is still the sweet little girl she has always been.  So that is my current life in a nutshell.  Overall I cannot complain.  I am definitely blessed!

Leave a Reply

