Grandma

 

Ada Lucille Kelshaw Evener May 29, 1921 - March 6, 2015

Ada Lucille Kelshaw Evener
May 29, 1921 – March 6, 2015

I cried for you today
The loss of a youth
The loss of a story
Another beautiful life gone

I cried for you today
One who gave so much
One who received so little
Unappreciated for so very long

I cried for you today
A life I wasn’t familiar with
A life that I finally started to see
Too late did I begin to really know

I cried for you today
For those opportunities lost
For those past moments gone
For a bond that can no longer grow

I cried for you today
A silent passing in the night
A silent parting without goodbye
A final homecoming for thee

I cried for you today
You were an unassuming mother
You were an unwavering wife
You were a grandmother to me

2 comments on “Grandma

Leave a Reply

