New Beginnings

Do you ever feel that you work so hard and never get to really see the fruits of your labor?  You may be the best employee and everyone will constantly tell you that.  They may seek you out for your knowledge and abilities.  But sill, no matter how good you are, you just cannot seem to get ahead.  I have felt that way for years; always knowing more and being more capable at my job than my office managers.  I found it very frustrating that I could know the job better than someone in it, yet I couldn’t have it just because I never finished my bachelor’s degree.  It is very frustrating, to say the least.  That is why I returned to school last year.  To get an over-priced piece of paper that truly has nothing to do with my job.  It is just an affirmation that I am willing to put forth effort in my life.

Now I must add here that for several years I was in a position where I was very happy, and quite honestly I may have retired in that position if it had not been so drastically changed by my company with the merging of several departments.  While it was not the highest paying position, I had a lot of freedom and flexibility, not to mention a fabulous director and such awesome coworkers that I felt were my family away from home.  It was after the changes took place that I really felt the sting of knowing more but being treated as less.  So I changed positions to another job where the gap between my knowledge and abilities and my value as an employee became even greater.  Sure I have had plenty of time in this past year in this position to complete my school work since I have had so much downtime, but that has been the only benefit to the job change.  I do not have that bachelor’s degree yet, but I am getting closer every day.  And now my efforts are finally paying off, as I finally landed a position that is of that promotional level I feel I have been deserving of for so long.  As I start to see an end to this period of stagnation in my life, my recent tarot card draw seemed very fitting:

3.11.15 Transformation

My new title is an Administrative Assistant III, but don’t let the title fool you.  In my company, this position is equivalent to that of an office manager.  It will be my first ever salaried position.  You may think changing to salary may suck, but this position does come with a considerable raise.  As if that weren’t enough, there are other small details that are so much larger in importance to me than I could have ever imagined until these last few years.  For the first time I will have an office with windows.  Yes I said an office.  Not a cubicle.  And WINDOWS!  Even in the position that I loved a few years back, I was in an office suite that lacked windows.  It could be day, night, or the gates of hell could be opening up and no one would ever know it.  I moved into my next position to being able to pass by offices with windows, but that was as close as I could get.  Now I will have my very own door and window.  Then the true blessing of the position….a return to independence and flexibility.  These two factors to me are like the fountain of youth or the lost city of gold.  I am very good at what I do.  I do not need to be micro managed.  In fact, I resent being micro managed to a point of wanting to do even less.  I finally will get to wave goodbye to those feelings of resentment as I start my new position in less than 24 hours.  So as of right now I am feeling quite blessed.

98e6831c2859bb18a61e46972b70123a

By Kris Heaton Posted in Work

2 comments on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

