Finished!

On March 18, 2014, I started on a journey to finally receive my bachelor’s degree.  This was a familiar journey, as I had started more than once in my life, however, this time I was determined to see it through.  Now 20 months, 17 classes and a 3.88 grade point average later, I have reached the goal that once seemed so far away.  I have completed my program!

I chronicled my experience in a blog titled: “A 40-Something-Year-Old’s Trip Back to the Books” if you care to read about it.  All I can say is, it wasn’t easy. There were many times was wanted to give up.  Working with teams and team members who didn’t carry their weight was the most frustrating part of the entire experience; however, this taught me something about myself that I had long forgotten:  I AM a leader.  When I started this journey, I wanted to sit back and just be a team member, while letting someone else lead.  Every so often that worked, but there were more times than not that our “leader” was not clear on the objective and I had to step in to ensure we were doing what was necessary.  Of course I did this to maintain my own grade, but over time, I just found I was much better at leading than most.  Yes, I am proud to say that.  Eventually, I stepped in as the leader automatically with each assignment, no longer wanting to just be along for the ride.  In the end, my efforts earned me a 3.88 grade point average and my degree.

Since my final class ended, I have found myself slightly “bored” and not knowing what to do with myself.  I had become so used to reading assignments or writing papers in my spare time that now I don’t know quite what to do with my time.  I have decided, however, that I am going to move on and obtain my master’s degree.  I am looking at two very different programs, one online that would start in May and one in a traditional format that would start in August, the latter being preferred.  However, until then, I will have some free time to rediscover a few hobbies I once had, and maybe a new one.

Thank you for being on this journey with me, and I truly thank those who helped me through it when I needed it.  I love you.

 

thank-you-student-loans-for-getting-me-through-college-i-can-never-repay-you-im-forever-in-your-debt-i-owe-you-one--ffcf2

11988756_1345142682257328_4786025082185006550_n

 

By Kris Heaton Posted in School

Leave a Reply

