One Step to Go!

I don’t even know how to begin….

My 2016 (Sagittarius) horoscope outlined two very important aspects taking place in my life this year.  “Even if you’ve been in the adult world for many years already, Saturn has something special in store for you. It’s time to create a solid foundation around your identity and life goals — even if you’re doing it all over again.” and “…you may take on a phenomenal career challenge that demands you to show the world what you’re really made of.”

A few years ago I wanted more out of life.  I wanted to change my position and status.  I wanted to open new doors.  So I took a leap of faith and returned to school in the hopes of doing just that.  The two years that followed were far from easy.  In fact, they were quite stressful.  So many times I found myself carrying the weight of my team projects and doing the bulk of the work on behalf of my school teammates in an effort to ensure I received the best grade I could.  A few times I was so frustrated that I wanted to quit.  But I stuck it through and finally obtained my bachelor’s degree last December.

When I finally graduated, it was rewarding, to say the least.  But a spark had been lit.  As anxious as I was to finally finish school, deep down I knew I wanted to continue on.  I wanted to pursue my master’s degree.  At first it was just a thought.  A wild and crazy thought considering the amount of stress I had already endured.  However, my dearest friend gently blew on that spark, making it ignite further.  Ok maybe he wasn’t so gentle (wink).  Still, the flame was small, and I was not sure what to do with it, but when you want something so strongly, and you believe in possibilities, sometimes the Universe will take over.  With uncanny timing, an opportunity presented itself, and I went to an open house that ultimately fanned the flames of my desire even higher.  So I applied for the program and waited.  After I passed step one, the application phase, an invitation was extended to me to interview to get into the program, which I did of course.  Step two was completed.  Then I was left to wait.  Today, step three is complete.  I got in!  But, I did not get into just any school – I was accepted into Vanderbilt University’s Owens Graduate School!  As I read the words “Congratulations….” I cried.  Excitement, achievement, exhilaration, and yes even a little bit of fear washed over me.  Why fear?  Because I still have one more step to complete – financial aid.  The biggest step of them all – well not as big as doing the work, but you get the point.  Being accepted into such a prestigious school is not cheap by any means.

So now once again I am sending my hopes and dreams out into the Universe and asking that I can overcome this final obstacle and enter the final phase of my educational pursuits.  A little blessing or prayer never hurt.  But no matter what happens, I definitely feel blessed that I made it this far.  I know I didn’t do it alone.  As my 2016 horoscope said, “Friends will benefit you in all sorts of ways!”  I am so very thankful to those who believed in me enough to push me.  And thank you to my bosses (current and past) that sent in letters of recommendation on my behalf. I just have one more small bump to cross, and I will be on my way!

Thank you Mother and Father God.

 

By Kris Heaton Posted in School

2 comments on “One Step to Go!

  1. You can achieve it, my Darling Daughter. You have always been special and very intelligent, enough to get anything you set your mind to attain.
    Love you always. — Mom

Leave a Reply

